Professional Selfies?

I’m a little mystified by the enduring popularity of selfies. I get the selfie in front of a famous person (hey, it’s Bill Murray!). I also get the selfie in front of a famous landmark (I’m in front of the White House!), but beyond that, I’m not sure why my friends keep posting them.

I did take one really good selfie at my daughter’s wedding in July. As I was waiting to walk her up the steps (of an old, rustic barn), she came around the corner, looking all beautiful and bride-y, and I pulled out my iphone to get a picture of her. As my other daughter (the maid of honor) was telling me to put my phone away (it’s a wedding, for crying out loud!) the bride chirped, “Take a selfie!” So I did. A great one (well, half great. I am not so beautiful).

The selfie seems to be moving beyond novelty. Not long after reading an article telling me not to put a selfie on my Linkedin professional profile (which I had actually done, for some reason I can’t recall), I found the following article from the employment firm Kelly Services on how to take a “professional selfie.”

http://www.kellyservices.com/US-MyKelly/Career/Career-Tips/How-to-Take-a-Professional-Selfie/?hid=RC#.VC9NBSldWTI

“A what,” you say? Well, that’s what I said. I especially like the note about attire. Now when selecting clothing for your professional profile pic, you need to make sure it still looks good with one arm extended out in front of you (watch the low-cut tops, and careful, that nice suit coat might bunch up funny!)

Anyway, the point of the article is that a nice selfie can make you look a little less “stuffy.” Come to think of it, I do look a little stuffy in my new, professional Linkedin profile pic.

But I can’t use the selfie from my daughter’s wedding, because rule number one for a professional selfie is: No photobombers. And that girl in the veil totally stole the show!

weddingselfie

Leave a comment